Senior students celebrated at Prize Giving

Posted on in Senior School

Family, friends and members of the wider St Mary’s College community were welcomed to the annual Senior School Prize Giving ceremony at Wrest Point on Monday 4 December.

The evening was a special opportunity to reflect on the past academic year and recognise and celebrate the success and achievements of our Year 7-12 students across many and varied fields.

Among the highlights of the event were the spectacular music ensembles, polished performances from the Years 7-8 and Senior choirs, and the presentation of the 2023 awards. See the photo gallery on our website here.

Congratulations to the following students who received awards on the night.

Ann Stanfield for Mission in Action Award – Madeline Young

Sr Barbara Amott Excellent All Rounder Award – Estella Edwards

Old Scholars Award for Excellence in Arts – Eliza Topham

Senior Musician of the Year Award – Eliza Topham

Art Acquisition Award – Lily Castellana

Rising Star Award – Davina Cox

Margaret Nicol Award for Drama – Grace Simonetis

Lehene Chung Humanities Book Prize – Hannah Korn

John Martin Humanities Book Prize – Laura Smith

Giovanna Giana Award for Excellence in LOTE – Grace Cox

Livinia Sproule Prize for Perseverance and Excellence in Science and Mathematics – Kasota Clayton

Vocational Education and Training Award – Sianna Biggar

St Mary’s College Award for Sports – Iris Bouwmeester

Santa Maria Award – Jasmine Wallace

Gillian Biscoe Award for Courage and Character – Grace Campbell

Mother Ellen Murphy Award for Service – Laura Grubb

Sister Majella Kelly Award for Outstanding Leadership – Harriet Kelly

Sister Ona Kaukenas Dux of the College – Kasota Clayton

Principal’s Award for the student with the highest ATAR (2022) – Lily Ransley

Northwest Old Scholars’ (Alumni) Originals Award 

Ellie Atkins

Sophie Berry

Lily Bewley

Mia Christie-Johnson

Laura Grubb

Harriet Kelly

Varaidzo (Vara) Marunda

Claire Oliver

Brooke Sice

Laura Smith

Isabella Thurley

Nano Nagle Head Prefect Leadership Award – Varaidzo (Vara) Marunda

Major Awards

2023 Nagle Certificate

Ellie Atkins

Madelin Bannister

Lily Bewley

Estella Edwards

Hannah Korn

Isabella Thurley

All Rounder Award

Year 7 – Zara McGuinness

Year 8 – Madeleine Marr

Year 9 – Sarah Thomas

Year 10 – Madeleine Ambrose

Year 11 – Holly Teale

House Cup – Manresa House

St Mary’s Servant Leadership Award

Hallie Cormack

Ella Edwards

Chideraa Ndupu

Madeline Young

Faith in Action Awards

Year 7 Sr Doreen Williams Faith in Action Award – Cara Watt

Year 8 Sr Sarah Hogan Faith in Action Award – Georgina Stringer

Year 9 Sr Marilyn Fryett Faith in Action Award – Hallie Cormack

Year 10 Sr Joseph McVilly Faith in Action Award – Maggie Robinson

Year 11 Gabrielle Morgan Faith in Action Award – Isabella Gebka

Year 11 and 12 Excellence Awards

Ellie Atkins – Biology 3

Grace Campbell – English Writing 3, Environmental Science 3

Mia Christie-Johnston – Health Studies 3

Kasota Clayton – Legal Studies 3, Chemistry 4, Mathematics Methods 4, Physics 4

Davina Cox – UTAS Foundation Music

Grace Cox – Italian 3

Molly Dodge – Biology 2

Zoe Dyson – Essential Mathematics (Workplace) 2

Ella Edwards – English 3 Art Practice 2

Estella Edwards – UTAS Advanced Music

Aurora Giuliani – General Mathematics 3, Physical Sciences 3

Emma Grubb – Community Service Learning 2

Adalia Hauler – Certificate II in Visual Arts Sociology 3

Temwa Makalani – Religion in Society 2

Varaidzo Marunda – Business Studies 3

Kyra Mastrocola – Mathematics Methods Foundation 3, Outdoor Education 2

Elizabeth Monks – Food and Nutrition 3, House and Design 3

Lily Morse – Visual Art 2

Chideraa Ndupu – English Literature 3, Studies of Religion 3, Visual Art 3

Lillian Richmond – General Mathematics 2

Grace Simonetis – Theatre Performance 3

Laura Smith – Psychology 3

Ava Thomsett – Music Studies 2

Isabella Thurley – Personal Health and Wellbeing 2

Jasmine Wallace – Certificate II in Sport Coaching Outdoor Leadership 3

Olivia Walter – Sport Science 3

Estella Whiting – Modern History 3

Georgia Wilson – Design and Production (Wood), The Artistic Achievement Award

Georgina Wilson – English Inquiry 2

Chideraa Ndupu – The People’s Choice Award

Year 10 Excellence Awards

Madeleine Ambrose – Advanced Mathematics, Humanities and Social Sciences, Life and Faith, Mathematics, Science and STEM

Emily Cooper – Housing and Design

Halina Dadswell-Booth – Italian

Charlotte Elischer – Materials and Design

Laura Hanstein – Marine and Antarctic Science

Olivia Hunniford-Webb – VET Certificate I in Workplace Skills

Sofia Lumb – Digital Technologies

Grace Marshall – English

Zoe Rhodes – Food Technology

Izabella Riley-Hanson – Creative Writing

Maggie Robinson – Drama

Ava Schultz – Law and Politics

Jessica Smith – Health and Physical Education

Mackenzie Thomas – Fitness and Me, Sport Science, Outdoor Education

Sarah Wilson – Introduction to Psychology

Year 9 Excellence Awards

Lucy Callinan – Life and Faith, Mathematics

Kaitlyn Fox – Science

Sana Ghiasvand – English, Introduction to Sociology

Lilyana Gillespie – New Media Art

Mackenzie Graves – Health and Physical Education, Humanities and Social Sciences

Isabella Harman – Music, Visual Art

Maria Kothris – Future Entrepreneurs, Italian

Alet Le Grange – Advanced Mathematics

Gracie Pelham – Forensic Science

Sally Quinn – Creative Ceramics

Georgia Thurling – Creative Writing

Grace Willis – Drama

Year 8 Excellence Awards

Rozalia Arnold – Digital Technology Health and Physical Education Mathematics

Makayla Brittain – Design and Technologies

Beatrix Clarke – Music

Imogen Croall – Humanities and Social Sciences

Madeleine Marr – English & Science

Lucy Pinelli – Life and Faith

Lucinda Washington – Italian

Talia Wighton – Drama

Jasmine Williams – Art

Year 7 Excellence Awards

Ashlee Bowden – Design and Technologies

Lucy Breen – Life and Faith

Camila Cunningham – Science

Orlaithe Dhue – Music

Jorgia Eyles – Drama

Skye Lucas – Art

Nonica Malhotra – Humanities and Social Sciences, Mathematics

Ava Parssey – Digital Technologies

Imogen Richardson – English

Georgia Scharvi – Health and Physical Education

Isabella Szkup – Italian



SMC Toolbox

Groving our love of learning

St Mary's College is located on the traditional lands of the muwinina people of the South East Nation. We acknowledge and deeply respect the palawa people, the Tasmanian Aboriginal Community, and all Elders past and present. We are committed to learning alongside our students and community in this place, nipaluna, and support the continued sharing of knowledge and culture.