2024 Rowing Awards Evening

Posted on in Sport

The Saints Rowing Club celebrated yet another very successful season with their Awards Presentation night held at Blundstone Arena on Thursday 9 May. St Mary’s rowers joined with counterparts from St Virgil’s to reflect on the many achievements of so many rowers.

A special thank you to Nicole, Kate and other members of the fundraising committee for not only their very important fundraising efforts throughout the season but also their organisation of the Awards Presentation night.

A special thank you also to all of our coaches:

U13: Michael and Piet

U14: Kate and Amy

U15: Marita, Rowland, Sam and Bec

U15 and Open: Tom, Declan and Susan

Without these dedicated and enthusiastic coaches and assistants we would not have been able to achieve the amazing results that we did.

Thank you also to all of our parents and other supporters who contributed to our successful 2023/2024 season.







Congratulations to all of our award recipients:

Team Spirit
Annaliese Carter

Ashlee Bowden

Hayley Owens

Ella Striker

Sarah Gillow

Rowing Excellence
Evie Bresnehan and Matilda Cunningham

Soraya Navidad

Imogen Stewart

Sarah Thomas

Holly Teale

The St Mary’s College Head of the River Day Cup is awarded to the crews who secured first place in a Division One Final at the Head of the River Regatta.

U15: Imogen Stewart (Single Scull)
U15: Imogen Stewart and Meila Bromfield (Double Scull)
U16: Four: Ella Striker, Sana Ghiasvand, Abbie Smith, Sarah Thomas, Cox: Grace Coad
U/16 Quad: Ella Striker, Sana Ghiasvand, Ruby Wighton, Sarah Thomas, Cox: Abbie Smith
Opens: Holly Teale (Single Scull)

The St Mary’s College Old Scholars Trophy is awarded to a St Mary’s College Rower for showing persistent endeavour and dedication over the rowing season. The recipient is Sarah Thomas.

The St Mary’s College Shield is awarded to the crew or squad for showing great application and for achieving the best results for the School Rowing Season. The recipients for last season are members of the U15 squad comprising: Melia Bromfield, Molly Brown, Imogen Croall, Grace Coad, Aoife Kelly, Preet Khakh, Cassia Mulholland, Haily Nethaya Wasala, Hayley Owens, Maggie Parker, Lucy Pinelli, Imogen Stewart and Lucinda Washington.

The Michael Dixon Trophy is presented to the Coxswain who made the most outstanding contribution to his or her school. This season the Michael Dixon Trophy was awarded to Freya Dickman and Lucy Pinelli.

The Peter Leamey Trophy is awarded to the rower or rowers from the Saints Rowing Club who exhibited great resilience throughout the 2023-2024 School rowing season. This season the Peter Leamey Trophy was awarded to Ella Striker.

The Kerin Award is a new award for the 2023/2024 season. Donated by long-time Club supporter, the Kerin family, this award acknowledges the achievements of those rowers who compete in the Australian Rowing Championships (The Nationals) and secure a medal-winning place.

Lucy Pinelli (Cox) for coxing SVC rowers Llewellyn Gray, Saxan Vananholt, Alex Lamprey and joined by Callum Wigston from Bucks for winning the gold medal in the U17 quad.

Imogen Stewart who joined with SMC and rowing club alumni Sophie Robinson to secure the bronze medal in the U23 light weight double scull.

Golden Oars are presented to a rower who has committed to School rowing from their first year of secondary school, through to their last. We congratulate Holly Teale for reaching this milestone.

As is evidenced by the results and awards, St Mary’s rowers had a fantastic season at the prestigious Head of the River and Australian Rowing Championships – the future is looking very good.

Off Season Winter Training

Off season Winter training has recently commenced, and a number of rowers have signed up to ensure that they can keep up with their fitness and strength during the off season. If you are interested in joining the Winter program or even the rowing squad, please contact Mr Pinelli at [email protected].

Season 2024/2025

Recruitment and try rowing days will be held in the latter part of Term 3. If you are interested in trying out, please keep an eye out for details in the Fountain newsletter or contact Mr Pinelli.

Andrew Pinelli
Senior Teacher
Rowing Coordinator


SMC Toolbox

Groving our love of learning

St Mary's College is located on the traditional lands of the muwinina people of the South East Nation. We acknowledge and deeply respect the palawa people, the Tasmanian Aboriginal Community, and all Elders past and present. We are committed to learning alongside our students and community in this place, nipaluna, and support the continued sharing of knowledge and culture.