Students win big at Science Awards

Written by Shelley Medhurst. Posted in News, Timeline

Sophie Williams (Year 11) presents her investigation.

Congratulations to our students who participated in the Science and Engineering Investigation Awards, held at the University of Tasmania. Thirty-five of our students in Years 6-11 attended the Awards Presentation on Wednesday 18 September, winning 20 prizes. The details are below. 

This is a remarkable achievement on the part of all of the students.  Their investigations were varied, meaningful and of an excellent standard.  These outstanding results reflect the hard work and commitment of both the students and the Science staff.  If you get a chance to congratulate the students and ask them about their investigations, I know that they will appreciate your interest and recognition of their success.  They were very proud and excited.

Heather Omant
Science Learning Area Coordinator


Environmental and Marine Science, Years 5-8

  • HONOURABLE MENTION: Jessica Ransley, Emma Grubb and Belle Chasemore
  • SECOND PRIZE: Zyla Williams

Environmental and Marine Science, Years 9-12

  • HONOURABLE MENTION: Sophie Williams
  • SECOND PRIZE: Isabella Cox, Emily Keane and Tori McCosker

Engineering, Years 7-10

  • FIRST PRIZE: Ava Thomsett and Alanna McKay

Agricultural Science, Years 5-7

  • FIRST PRIZE: Grace Cox

Agricultural Science, Years 8-10

  • THIRD PRIZE: Chloe Struwe and Samantha Rickwood
  • SECOND PRIZE: Ava McCoull and Miranda Guy
  • FIRST PRIZE: Emily Walter

Health and Wellbeing, Years 5-7

  • SECOND PRIZE: Amity Jakubiszyn, Asha Lee and Arshiya Rijal
  • FIRST PRIZE: Adalia Hauler

Health and Wellbeing, Year 8

  • FIRST PRIZE: Madeline Young and Kasota Clayton

Health and Wellbeing, Years 9-12

  • HONOURABLE MENTION: Emmerson Spencer and Holly Sice
  • THIRD PRIZE: Georgia Chambers
  • SECOND PRIZE: Shreya Karunakara and Jade Hay

Physical Science, Years 5-6

  • SECOND PRIZE: Grace Marshall

Physical Science, Years 7-10

  • THIRD PRIZE: Maddison Marschke
  • SECOND PRIZE: Isabella Mihal, Kyra Mastrocola and Isabella Metwari
  • FIRST PRIZE: Luzie Gillard




Secured By miniOrange