Celebrating outstanding talent in science

Written by SMC Administrator. Posted in Featured News, News, Timeline

St Mary’s College has come away with six awards in the Research Investigation section of the 2017 Tasmanian Science Talent Search.

Our Year 10s recorded some big wins in the intermediate division (which comprised 81 entries), with Eloise Deconinck awarded first place, Saakshi Dhakal, Spriha Paudel and Keeley Hine-Haycock equal second place, Chloe Cooper third place and Alana Bellette receiving a merit award.

As a result of their success, the Year 10 girls have been invited to enter their projects in the national BHP Billiton Science Awards.

From left, Olivia Graham, Bianca Hoggett and Lucy Wolfe (Year 8).

We also congratulate Olivia Graham, Lucy Wolfe and Bianca Hoggett (Year 8) who received a merit award for their joint entry in the junior secondary division of the competition.

The following students took home Encouragement Awards in the junior secondary division:

Meg Pinelli, Ellie Woodward and Samantha Tomes-Park (Year 7).

Zoe Brown and Emily Sheen (Year 7).

Isabella Cox and Emily Keane (Year 8).

The Tasmanian Science Talent Search (TSTS) is a competition open to all students from (Kinder to Year 12) in all Tasmanian schools and includes science inquiry (research investigation) and engineering categories.

TSTS is organised by the Science Teachers Association of Tasmania and supported by the Faculty of Science Engineering and Technology at the University of Tasmania.


Secured By miniOrange