Bebras Computational Thinking Challenge award recipients

Written by SMC Administrator. Posted in News, Timeline

Congratulations to the following Year 3-12 students who received awards in the Bebras Computational Thinking Challenge, which was held at the College last month.

Junior School 


Year 3-4
Ava Baker
Meg Brewer
Laine Debnam
Jade Frais
Izabella Jankowiak
Charlotte Poulson
Billie Salter
Sarah Thomas
Leni Vagg

Year 5-6
Madeleine Ambrose
Lili Castellana
Amelia Dickman
Adalia Hauler
Isabelle Hoggett
Grace Marshall
Stella Menjivar
Tina Purves
Jessica Smith


Year 3-4
Zoe Argyropoulos
Lola Wills
Beatrix Clarke
Lucy Hofler
Zoe Brooks
Milena Mackay
Trixie Millhouse
Holly Richardson
Ava Baker
Georgina Stringer
Charlotte Mika

Year 5-6
Lucy Booth
Taylah Hayes
Zyla Williams
Darcy Foale
Sophie Kitto
Jessica Skinner
Ella Grice
Kate Holloway
Anna Fracalossi
Emma Grubb
Holly Teale
Caitlin Wimmer
Ines Cruz
Grace Fogarty
Bianca Nichols

Senior School

High Distinction

Year 7-8
Ellie Woodward
Cecilia Hutchinson


Year 7-8
Zoe Banks
Elsie Oswin
Meg Pinelli
Teresa Smith
Eliza Topham
Emily Walter

The winning house will be presented with the trophy at the next whole school assembly.

Fun facts about the Bebras Computational Thinking Challenge

  1. The Bebras Australia Computational Thinking Challenge started in Australia in 2014 through the CSIRO Education & Outreach program, Digital Careers. However, the Bebras Challenge has a long and world-wide history.
  2. Founded in 2004 by Professor Valentina Dagiene from University of Vilnius in Lithuania, the first Bebras challenge involved 3470 students from 146 schools.
  3. The Bebras Challenge has grown so much that there are now almost 60 countries, with more than 1.6 million students, participating last year alone!
  4. In case you’re wondering, Bebras is the Lithuanian word for ‘beaver’.
  5. The International Bebras Community chose this name because beavers endeavour for perfection in their everyday activities. They are known to be hard working and intelligent, so it’s only right that the challenge be named after them.

To find out more, please visit the website:

SMC Alumni Mass and Annual General Meeting

Written by SMC Administrator. Posted in News, Timeline

Mark your diaries! The St Mary’s College Alumni Association will be holding its Alumni Mass and Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Saturday 3 November.

Mass in the St Mary’s Cathedral will commence at 12.00pm followed by afternoon tea ($20) – including bubbles – and the AGM from 2.30pm at the College.

The meeting is a great opportunity for SMC alumni to meet up with old and new faces and share ideas on alumni programs and events.

In honour of our 150th anniversary year, each alumni will be invited to ring the school bell.

Please register your interest to attend by contacting the College Business Office on (03) 6108 2560, or follow the payment instructions on the flyer available on our website:

SMC/SVC/GYC Rowing Club Cocktail Party – tickets still available

Written by SMC Administrator. Posted in News, Timeline

All current and past supporters of the SMC/SVC/GYC Rowing Club are warmly invited to attend the club’s second annual cocktail party, which will be held this Saturday 20 October from 7.00pm at the New Town Bay Rowing Centre.

It’s set to be a fantastic night out, with highlights to include live entertainment by the Janelle Stowe trio, canapes, a free drink upon arrival and a silent auction fundraiser, with some exciting prizes up for grabs.

Last-minute tickets can be purchased at the door on the night for $40, from the St Mary’s College Business Office in person or by phoning 03 6108 2560, or from the St Virgil’s College Junior School Office.

All proceeds from the event will go towards the purchase and maintenance of rowing boats, safety equipment and club facilities.

For event enquiries, or to express your interest in offering a donation, prize or voucher for the auction, please contact SMC Rowing Coordinator, Elizabeth Carter at

Please note, this is an adults only event. All rowers and non-rowers are very welcome to come along!

Thank you for supporting rowing at St Mary’s College!

150th Anniversary Grand Bazaar – the countdown is on!

Written by SMC Administrator. Posted in News, Timeline

Excitement is mounting at St Mary’s College with just four days to go until our Grand Bazaar makes its long-awaited debut on Sunday 21 October.

The Parents and Friends Association is working tirelessly around the clock to put the finishing touches on the jam-packed program, which will run from 11.00am-2.00pm on the College Green (‘top ground’). 

Giant Trailer Hamper Raffle

A big thank you to all families and staff who generously supported our Giant Trailer Hamper Raffle fundraising initiative this morning, and those who have volunteered to contribute to the ‘Cake and Make Stall’ – we’re looking forward to sampling your baked goodies. Information about the Cake and Make Stall went home with families on Monday, along with your plates. If you have any questions, please email me at 

Don’t forget – raffle books for the Trailer Hamper Raffle are due back to the school by Friday 19 October.

Stalls, entertainment and attractions 

We also thank all individuals and groups who have put their hand up to man a stall at the event.

There will be more than 30 stalls – featuring everything from plants and succulents, second-hand clothes and books, a photo booth, fortune telling, white elephant items and 150th merchandise – and a wide variety of family-friendly games and entertainment including Zorb balls, sumo suits, a jumping castle, buried treasure hunting and old-fashioned quoits.

Appetites will be kept in check with a delicious range of hot and cold food, beverages and sweets available for purchase, with a lolly jar, chocolate wheel and trailer raffle for those feeling extra lucky on the day.

We are delighted to announce a new addition to the Grand Bazaar program – the Peddler’s Parade. Be sure to mark the following times in your diary to catch students peddling their wares to fair-goers: 

11.30am – Kindergarten
12.30pm – Prep

Helpers urgently needed

While we are at the pointy end of preparations, last-minute helpers are still urgently needed, particularly to man the inflatable stalls (Zorb balls, jumping castle, etc).

We are also still welcoming donations for the chocolate wheel. Donations can include electrical items, hardware items, sports equipment, toys and vouchers.

If you can help out in any way, please email P&F President, Stacey Daley at

Thank you in advance for generosity and support. Catch you all on Sunday!

Stacey Daley
Parents and Friends President

Junior School mural in the making

Written by SMC Administrator. Posted in News, Timeline

Local artist Tom O’Hern has created a bit of a stir at the College this week. 

The reason? He has started work on a mural in the Junior School line-up area, which will be completed during the school term.

Inspired by the names of our Junior School classes, the painting will feature native Australian flora and fauna, such as wallabies, wombats, bluegum and wattle.

Students and staff are looking forward to witnessing the piece evolve over the coming weeks!

Secured By miniOrange