150th Anniversary Committee

Save the date – we are turning 150!

SMC-Anniversary-Logo.finFamilies who are new to St Mary’s College may be unaware that we will be celebrating our 150th anniversary in 2018. This is going to be a wonderful opportunity to party and you are invited along for the ride.

The following dates have now been confirmed, so be sure to put them in your calendar/diary so you don’t forget.



Key dates for 2018

Saturday 17 March
College Community Event, 10.30am to 2.30pm, St Mary’s College

Thursday 10 May
Cocktail Party, 6.00pm, Government House

Saturday 12 May
Mass, 3.30pm, St Mary’s Cathedral and tours of the College

Saturday 12 May
Anniversary Gala Dinner, 5.30pm, Hotel Grand Chancellor

Fun fact: Did you know that St Mary’s College accepted its first pupils on 3 February 1868?

Reconnect with us

Archives uniformSt Mary’s College Alumni are being invited to reconnect with the College in the lead-up to this significant upcoming date by updating their contact addresses to stay informed of the various celebratory events we have planned.
For this reason, the College has employed Alumna Kylie Barrett as our new Alumni Database Coordinator. Kylie is currently working hard to ensure all postal and email addresses in our system are correct, so if you think your details might be out of date, please email her at kbarrett@smc.tas.edu.au

We also encourage Alumni to share memorabilia such as uniform items and stories from their school days to be included in our Heritage Centre. If you would like to contribute to the Heritage Centre, please email communications@smc.tas.edu.au or phone 03 6108 2560.

150 Faces

A special highlight of our 150th milestone celebrations is the production of a book that features 150 faces of significant people who have made an impact on the St Mary’s community.

The book will highlight their school service and achievements and be published ready for our 150th Anniversary.

While some stories are known to us, we are reaching out to you and the wider public to find the many and varied stories that need to be told.

Nominations are called for past members of the College community, male and female, in the categories of students, staff and other (e.g. volunteers), who fit the criteria noted on the nomination form.

The form may be completed online, or downloaded and then posted, handed in or emailed to the College. For more information, visit www.smc.tas.edu.au/150-faces-project/

 2017 Committee members

The Committee for 2017 is:

  • Jo Messer (Co-President)
  • Chris Ryan (Co-President
  • Brigid Knight
  • Jacqueline Conboy
  • Jennifer Crowden
  • Margaret Rootes
  • Gabrielle Morgan
  • Helen Spencer
  • Stuart Calvert
  • Vicki Turvey

Meeting Dates for 2017

All meetings are held on Tuesday or Wednesday evenings commencing at 3.30pm in Board Room 1.

  • Tuesday 14 March 2017
  • Tuesday 4 April 2017
  • Tuesday 23 May 2017
  • Tuesday 4 July 2017
  • Wednesday 23 August 2017
  • Wednesday 25 October 2017

Minutes and Reports

150 Anniversary Minutes 04.07.17
150 Anniversary Minutes 23.05.17
150 Anniversary Minutes 04.04.17
150 Anniversary Minutes 14.03.17
150 Anniversary Minutes 21.11.16
150 Anniversary Minutes 02.08.16
150 Anniversary Minutes 10.06.16
150 Anniversary Minutes 04.03.16
150 Anniversary Minutes 23.08.17

Secured By miniOrange